Who Needs a Door Handle (WTF 1)

Yesterday was a bad day all around. But no bad day is complete without a cherry to top it off. This is going to be part one of a look inside the inner workings of the taxi industry during an “emergency”.

I pull up to the hotel to let my fare out and when I get back in the car to leave a black SUV pulls around me and stops. I give him a minute to figure out what he’s doing (car had out if state plates). The driver gets out and started to unload a ton of bags. I tap my horn to get his attention and point to the sign saying it’s a “thru lane”. He just kept unloading. I then lean out the window and tell him, “hey, this is a thru lane you need to pull forward to the side to unload your car so everyone can get thru”. Well that didn’t go over well. He grabbed the next bag and slammed it against my cab. Thankfully staff at the hotel saw what was happening and went up to the guy and asked him to not unload there and told him he can pull up to the side to unload.

He got back into his SUV and pulled down the driveway. I put my car in drive and off I went. As we get to the edge of the property he stops and puts his SUV in park. Next thing I know his two doors fly open and two guys jump out and run at me. I’ve seen this before so I know what’s coming. I hit the panic button on my camera and I start to roll my window up as the driver reaches my door. Before I can get the window all the way up he takes a swing at me. Thank god he missed and my window is now up. They start yelling and I yell back, “WHAT THE FUCK IS YOUR DEAL? why don’t you get back in your car and get the fuck out of here”.

Well as I’m sure you’ve guessed, leaving was not what was on his mind. He wanted blood and wasn’t going to leave till he got it. He grabbed my door handle and in one swift tug ripped it right off the door. His buddy then got a freaked out look on his face and pulled the driver back to the SUV. They sped off and I switched my radio to “emergency” (as per company policy) and called it in. I started to follow him to get the plate number and make and model of the SUV.

20110511-062231.jpg

Once I got that he noticed I was behind him and started to run every red light for as far as I could see. I turned back around and started back to the hotel to wait for the Taxi Authority. Before I could get there my dispatch came back on the radio and said I needed to go back to the cab yard. I asked about the Taxi Authority and was told that per the road supervisor I needed to go back to the yard and everything would be handled there.

This isn’t out of the ordinary. The Taxi Authority does this a lot. I have yet to find out why but it happens so I started back like I was told.
20110511-061903.jpg

This mini-drama will continue for the next few posts. You can track them in order by the (WTF) plus a number at the end of each tittle.

22 Responses to “Who Needs a Door Handle (WTF 1)”

  1. Obviously that guy has anger management issues. WTF is he going to do with a door handle? Maybe he can shove it up his YKW? :-p

  2. Wow…there are some crazy people out there. I’m glad you’re ok!

  3. What the flying F!??! Dude add your job to the likes of cops, troopers, and patrol man alike! Your job is dangerous!!!

  4. firecracker3 Says:

    Again, much like the flood episode, you have to wonder wtf people are thinking or if they EVEN think any longer. Sad stuff…

  5. I would’ve asked him to say cheese and taken a pic of his ass through your window. There’s no crying in baseball! Rub some dirt on it for Christ’s sake 😉

  6. Wtf? Oh, now I get why it’s called that…

  7. Straight out of a CSI episode. That is crazy! Next your going to tell me the popo caught the SUV and there was a dead body in the back!

  8. ryoko861 Says:

    Fast thinking on your part! That had to be alittle scary!

    You realize you age your wife about 10 years when shit like this happens you know.

    @fnkybee – LMAO!!

    • At this point I’m getting use to it. This type of thing has happened about 4-5 times. Now I just get pissed knowing it’s going to cost me money.

  9. Sounds crazy man! Seriously… !
    Looking forward to the next post of HackingSherlock! 😉

  10. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    When you sell this for a TV series….can I apply to be one of your writers? Pleeaaassseee…….. I tell ya, these adventures of yours are must-watch TV!! 🙂

  11. Wow! There are people crazier and angrier then me on the road?

  12. […] That All You Care About (WTF 2) After being told to go back to the yard in “Who Needs a Door Handle” I did just that. I was only about 2 miles away so I was there In just a few moments. When I […]

Leave a Reply

