Birthday Hack

20110426-184032.jpg

I’m coming out of my birthday weekend and the wife was determined to make it a fun one. She spent a lot of time figuring out what we are going to do. She made sure to clear my calendar for Friday night and Saturday. So on Wednesday when I started coming down with a bug I didn’t want to say anything. That night did me in though. We stayed late after our oldest son’s baseball practice so I could pitch to him while he worked on his batting stance. Thursday morning I woke up really not feeling well. I chalked it up to getting old and went on with my day. That night I found myself at the pharmacy getting sinus meds so I could sleep.

20110426-185429.jpg
Friday morning the wife was nice enough to let me sleep in and god I needed it. I woke up around 11am or so. I can’t remember the last time that happened. On the down side I felt like a Mack truck just ran me over and then backed up for good measures. I stumbled out of the bedroom and downed my pot of coffee with a handful of meds hoping this would help before the night came. I really wanted to go out and enjoy a fun packed night.

After doing the days running around, we came home to get ready. We fed the kids and the wife took me out to sushi. Krazy Sushi has the best selection of gluten-free sushi in town. The owners have been good to us from day one of going there. After the wife wheeled me out, we started toward The Tropicana Hotel. They have been re-doing the entire property and added an exhibit/show. “The Mob Experience” is a very cool walk through tribute to Vegas history and the mob. That’s where we were going.

20110426-190157.jpg
After getting to the hotel and walking down the steep stair case, we get our mob names. I was the Grim Reaper and the wife was Kid Twist. We had these badges that gave the rooms our info as we went though the first half. Unfortunately, this part was a disaster. It could’ve been awesome with a little more attention to detail. It felt like this was a temporary feature that was set up in a circus tent somewhere. The actors were disorganized and had a hard time interacting with us. The automated parts were not timed properly and started talking before we walked in the rooms. Doors that seemed like they should be closed were left open causing sound from one room to drown out the other room you were trying to listen to. Luckily, I was able to look past all of this and take in all the great info they were showing us.

20110426-191754.jpg
The second half of the exhibit was spectacular. Like a moment frozen in time, you walk into room after room of amazing artifacts and information galore. If you are a fan of the mob, Hollywood mob movies, or history at all, this is well worth the money. Finishing the experience with a shocking end to it all, I would recommend this to fans. If they work on the first half, they may have a hit for a larger audience.

After The Mob Experience, we walked around the Aria before heading downtown. We jumped in the car and that was the end. I couldn’t go on. I tried, I really tried. I wanted to go down the zipline on Fremont Street so bad but knew I wouldn’t have enjoyed it the way I felt. So despite the urge to want to push forward I threw in the towel.

20110426-192242.jpg
We were homeward bound and decided drinking at home would help everything. I poured my vodka and grapefruit and drank the sickness to the ground. I woke up Saturday feeling more human and decided it was going to be a birthday sitting in front of the TV and doing nothing else. It was the best birthday ever.

16 Responses to “Birthday Hack”

  1. Glad to hear you are feeling better. You must have gotten the same bug hubby and I managed to get … nasty little thing.

    And … a belated “Happy Birthday”!

  2. I love you ya old fart!

  3. Well old man you know what it sounds like to me? That you just can’t hang anymore. 😉 Sounds like you two had a good night. Sorry to hear that you got sick before hand and it dampered the night a bit. Don’t worry Tiger you’ll get’em next time!

  4. May I ask how old you turned?
    Happy belated Birthday! I hope the Mob Experiance is still going on if I ever make it to Vegas again. I would really like to see the exhibit.

  5. ryoko861 Says:

    At least you did something! And what a cool experience! My husband would have liked that. He’s into that “Godfather” and “Good Fellas” stuff. I say if I want a Mob Experience I’ll head to NYC.

    Hope you’re feeling better! And Belated Birthday wishes!

  6. You are one lucky guy to have a wife that organizes such things for you!

  7. I know, I totally missed your b-day but… better late than never, right?

Leave a Reply

