Lines, Lines, and More Lines

This week has been a tough one. We have the National Broadcasting Association in town which brings a lot of people out here. For some reason once again the Taxi Authority approved way too many extra cabs for this event. The cab stands are long as hell and a lot of drivers are making between $100-$150 less then they do on a normal non-convention day. I have gone up and down the strip a few times this week and all I see are line, lines, and more lines. Its for this reason why I’m glad I work the north end of town a lot.

It’s now Tuesday and I stumble into work to this.

20110412-035736.jpg

WTF

I guess the largest company in town can’t afford a computer system that doesn’t crash all the time or freeze. They are hand writing our trip sheets which is taking forever. I had enough time to write this and could’ve re-written it about 5 times. Total wait time: 30 mins. Normal wait time 30 seconds to 3 mins.

HAPPY TUESDAY

11 Responses to “Lines, Lines, and More Lines”

  1. OMG, that’s not right! I think some company organization is in order!

    What would it take for you to run your OWN taxi company? You have great insight and ideas. Or is it a thankless job with too much stress responsibilities? I definitely could see you running a place like this, but much smoother.

    • To get your own cab company in Vegas takes an act of Steve Wynn or some other big wig. It’s a very tight knit business and they turn down people all the time. I’m just counting down the years till I can start my ambulance company. I’ve run the second largest ambulance company in Orange County,CA. I have a little insight into how to work the transportation industry and these cab companies throw away a ton of money running things the way they do. It must be nice to make enough money that you don’t care about the extra money you could be making.

  2. I say its time for a revolt! But after lunch!

  3. You could have yelled “fire!” then got in the front of the line as everyone else was running around screaming like little girls. Once you secured your place you could have yelled “just kidding” and then gone on with the rest of your morning.

    Where is your imagination? God how I love you 🙂

  4. The brave taxi driver you are, I figure you will find a way to get to the front of the line without much waiting.

    • Any other time of the day I would. At that time of the morning I don’t even have my first cup of coffee in me. Truthfully I’m shocked I even thought about writing a post.

  5. Cities of the Mind Says:

    That’s crazy, unless they’ve approved way more cabs since I lived there, the normal modus operandi involved waiting for a cab to be free, not the other way around.

    • They have add atleast 300 cabs since I’ve started driving. Now it’s more common for cab drivers to drive up and down the streets due to lack of areas for us to stage.

  6. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    That sucks!

Leave a Reply

