Who’s Parked In My Spot

What in Sam Hell is going on around here? I pulled up to my favorite little downtown staging area and our parking was taken over by this:

I pulled around to where other cabs have made their own staging area and tried to figure this out. I saw a bunch of guys walking around in all black with head sets on. This looked all too familiar. It was reminding me of the days I worked in theatre. Then a large moving truck pulled up and they started unloading road cases for a band.

I was confused. We have live music on Fremont all the time and they never block off the streets. Why this time? Why on a day I’m working?

I pull up to the make shift cab stand and grab my phone to start typing. As I’m pecking away on my phone as fast as my two thumbs can go, I hear a rumble. I look up to see a big shiny black diesel truck about two inches from my door. I guess I was so engulfed into the post I was writing I didn’t hear it sneak up on me. I look up to the driver who has now thrown it into reverse and is laughing at me as he backs into his spot. That’s when I saw it.

Who the hell is Ronnie Dunn and why the hell is he taking up my work space? I instantly open my web browser and Google him. The Wikipedia page pops up and I tapped it. I watched as a homeless looking guy appears on my screen.

So I read on. Come to find out this is the “Dunn” part of “Brooks & Dunn“. I have heard of these guys but that’s where my knowledge ends. Come to find out they are a country group and I guess they are quite popular. Dunn has decided to work on a solo album over the last year or so and this is part of the tour for it.

With this information I declared it was OK that my work space was being invaded. I mean everyone needs to make a buck. So back to work I went.

As far as all of you who have read this and are asking yourselves how can I not know these guys, I can say one thing; early on-set dementia with a butt load of not liking country music.

P.S.

After getting home I jumped on the computer to put the pics in the post (never use the WP App because while you can use it to put pics in, I have lost two posts due to crashes) and had to go back to Wikipedia to get one one of the pics and noticed that I was more out of the loop then I thought.

Come to find out, the ACM Awards are here in town this week. That’s the real reason for this concert. While he is debuting his solo record, this is not part of his tour. If you would like to check out dates for it here’s the link.

12 Responses to “Who’s Parked In My Spot”

  1. “I watched as a homeless looking guy appears on my screen.”—Hilarious!

    I didn’t know who he was until you said Brooks and Dunn.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    Is Vegas becoming the new Country Music Capital of the states?

    • I don’t know if it’s country music specific but more trying to be the anything and everything capital of not just the states but the world. I heard a doorman put it best the other day, “things may be bigger in Texas but everythings done bigger in Vegas.”

  3. Hey, you remember that guy? You know….that one from that movie?

    LOL. I love you.

  4. ryoko861 Says:

    He’s the best part of Brooks and Dunn. I hope he can make it going solo! I have I think 4 of their CD’s. But to see his tour bus! How awesome!

    • If you pull up your CSI program on the computer I’m sure you can get the plate number. Then when he passes through town you know what door to knock on. πŸ™‚

  5. I shake my head. How do you not know who Ronnie Dunn is!?!? Ok if country music was like the gods in Olympus, he would like Poseidon! Yeah huge! Ah well I guess you gotta like country music.

    • Let’s put it this way, I’ve talk to LLCoolJ, Biz Markey, and many other stars face to face and had no clue who they were till afterward. I don’t look at “star” any different than myself. That includes people who I’m fans of. Ask Thy it drives her crazy when I meet stars.

  6. Hmm the guys seems to have pretty good reasons to be your spot but still…. I really expected you would take a stand and show him the way out there. Taking over your own damn parking space again πŸ˜›

    No on a serious note, great blog!

    ps. I didn’t know who Ronnie Dunn was either, until you told me. No worries!

    • I’ll have to remember that for next time. Maybe I can slash the tires to show them I mean business. Then tell them to push the RV out of my way

Leave a Reply

