A Cab Drivers Voice

I recently wrote a post titled “F The B”  that struck a chord with me. It got me thinking about my industry and made me angry. I have my wife proof all my posts and when she finished “F That B” she asked me something I haven’t thought about in a while.

Wife: please tell me you reported this?
Me: I wish I could’ve but it goes no where.
Wife: what are you talking about, why wouldn’t it go anywhere?
Me: trust me, been here done that, I’m over it.

This conversation really made me think and it made me mad. I’m not this kind of person. I’m the kind of person that calls in every drunk driver, stops at most traffic accidents where help is not already there (I use to work in the medical field and try to help when I can), and help people in need within reason. So why have I changed my ways? Why is, “It’s a waste of time”, my first thought? I started thinking and I think I figured it out.

I remember the first time I reached out to try to help someone who was in need after I had started to drive a cab. It was about three months after I started and I had picked up a single male from the airport who was going to the Stratosphere Hotel. On the way there I started in on my normal chit chat. He was in from Kentucky and said he was wanting to find his friends while he was in town. I asked where they were staying and got an answer I never in a million years expected, “They’re dead”. A calm silence filled the car. I had no clue what to say. I’m a trained critical incident counselor and found myself speechless. So I did the one thing I could think of. I listened.

He started telling me about his plan while in Vegas and how he had even told people at home. He said they just laughed it off and told him,”you need this break so enjoy your time out there”. The details started pouring out. He came to town with a backpack that was full of every dollar to his name. He booked a room at the hotel for a week and after checking in, he was going to hit the tables. He was going to play the tables until he had nothing but $100 left. When he got down to his “goal” he planned to eat a “nice meal” and go find his friends. I asked how he planned to find his friends and he came back with a detailed explanation.

First I plan to rig a rope to the ceiling of the room. I then plan to dangle there until I see them. But if the ceiling is too low, I will find a way to fly off the tower. One way or another I will find them and life will go on.

Once again I didn’t know what to say. I started with the basics and I asked if he had thought about getting help from the VA. He said he doesn’t want their help and that he believed that they are the reason he feels this way. They took his friends so why would they want to help him. I then asked if I could take him to a place that was not a part of the military to try and get him some help. He refused.  I took the last few minutes to try to talk him down but had no response.  I was wishing that I could just take him to the hospital or somewhere for help, but as a driver it is against the law for me to take a fare anywhere other than where they want to go. I could be charged with kidnapping and much more. So I pull up to the hotel and let him out.  I then call over the bellman and let him know what he was telling me. I get blown off and move on to security with the same response.  I then call my supervisor and fill him in on what I had just been told and once again got the blow off.  Not knowing what else to do, I called the Taxi Authority and they said I need to let the hotel know and that it was all that I could do.

I was upset. Everywhere I turned I got the same response and felt helpless.  I sat there for a few minutes and finally just went back to work. I felt like shit the rest of the day. The next few days I tried to find out what happened to him and see if the hotel had any issues with guests. I got no where and finally had to just push it out of my mind.  I had a few more situations similar to this and time after time I got the same response. I have developed a mind-set over the last few years to just let things go. I am just a driver and all I have to do is get someone from point A to point B. I only help when I’m asked to.

I still have a hard time with this and I know this fare will always be in the back of my mind. I wish there was a way to make changes in the industry. Give me your thoughts and let me know what you would do.

5 Responses to “A Cab Drivers Voice”

  1. ryoko861 Says:

    We’re all just dust in the wind.

    I know that frustration you must have felt that no one wanted to take any action in this quite drastic situation. You did the best you could to help him with the knowledge and resources you were allowed. I wonder if going to the police would have helped? But to have NO ONE even look into the matter…that’s just really sad.

    This will be one post I’ll have in the back of mind for a while. I, too, am curious as to that man’s fate.

    One for the book.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    Unfortunately, that is the society we live in. No one wants to get involved. That fact that you did try to get involved shows that you still have the values that our Country used to have. Kudos to you. I know it is hard when you feel like you are talking to a brick wall, but for your own piece of mind, I hope you keep on reporting things like this. No matter what the outcome, at least you TRIED to do something to help these people.

    • Thank you. I really hope this country of ours can go back to a place where we don’t have to worry about being sued for just trying to help. I think that’s our main problem.

  3. The saddest thing about this all is, that there is no way to help these people. At least not yourself. By informing people what he was planning to you really did all you could. If laws forbid you to take any other actions, what else is left? You had to put is faith in the hands of others. The saddest part is that there just wasn’t anyone who really cared or wanted to look into it. There are just to few poeple in this world who really care about what happens to another human being. So the fact you did all you could already is more than anyone might expect you to do.

Leave a Reply

