From One Emergency to Another

Ah just what I needed. A week off of work in sunny Southern California. Yeah, that’s where I’ve been. In beautiful sunny California with my feet propped up by the pool, sipping on cocktails with the wife, and not a worry in the world. Life doesn’t get much better than this.

Oh wait, that’s what I wish really happened. Unfortunately that couldn’t be farther from the truth. I had to leave work last Sunday on a family emergency that started off grim but turned out to be as okay as okay gets. But this post isn’t about my family or why I had to leave work. This is about how sad it is that I can’t leave on a family emergency without people messing up my business.

As a cab driver I have to figure out how to make as much money as possible no matter what’s going on in town. I do this by finding people that need rides regularly and force them offer to be their personal driver. This is a common practice and by doing this I can count on making the money I need. I call it smart business but I guess not everyone understands that.

When I left this last week, I had to call in a few of my personals (fares that call me direct or have a standing schedule) to the company I work for to make sure that they had rides. I do this for any of my personals who ask. Some just won’t use a cab unless I’m working so luckily I only had to call in a couple of orders. After doing this I felt better and sent text messages to my personals to let them know what was going on. They thanked me and probably felt that all would be well like it normally is.

Later in the week I got a text from one of my personals letting me know that she had to rent a car for the week instead of using my company and that she would tell me what had  happened when I got back. Well I’m back and I was going over my pick ups for the day when my phone went off. It was her. She said that she rented the car for another week and would not need me for her regular time this week. I was shocked. I asked what happened and she filled me in on the last weeks events.

I pick her up Monday thru Thursday and set up a pick up for her on Fridays. I guess last Monday the driver she got was late and then took her the long way to work. She paid him and then called to complain about being long hauled. The following day the driver was even later and was smoking in the cab with the windows up. He refused to put it out or roll down the windows. So now she’s been late to work two days in a row and gets warned about how important it is that she’s on time. That night she canceled her cabs for the rest of the week and rented a car to get herself back and forth until I got back. So all was fine until she looked at her calendar for the upcoming week and she saw that I told her I would be missing work again this Tuesday and possibly longer due to jury duty. She said she started to panic and decided that she had to get herself a car and start driving again. I understood after what she went through, but then the bomb hit. She said that she was just going to buy a car and didn’t need my service anymore. She couldn’t rely on my company to pick her up on my days off and she couldn’t risk loosing her job.

I was pissed. Not at her. I don’t blame her, honestly. I was pissed at my company and the other drivers. When I call in I let the company know it’s a personal of mine and they should take note. As a company, they should try and make these people happy. These people are paying good money almost everyday to get a ride. But now that they pissed her off and made her not trust them I lose a fare, a tip, and the company loses money too. Maybe they don’t remember that I only get a percentage of what’s on the meter. They get the rest.

With that said, I’m going back to work and have to find a new fare to fill my 7am time slot. Thanks for looking out.

5 Responses to “From One Emergency to Another”

  1. ryoko861 Says:

    It’s a dog eat dog world out there! Sorry you lost a fare.
    Not trying to be a devils advocate here but look at it from her end. She needed to get to work. We all know how bosses are if you’re late. Plus, cigarette smoke is offensive in closed quarters. She walks into work smelling like an ashtray. That’s not good either. She decided to take matters into her own hands and get herself car. She needs dependability. I’m sure she was grateful for your services, but things have changed.

    I agree, the company should have stepped in and made things right for her.

    If anyone is to blame it’s that stupid driver that made her late. And for smoking in the cab. Almost like he was TRYING to discourage her from using the cab service so she wouldn’t want to use your services anymore when you came back. I don’t know what they call it (scabbing?), but he didn’t want you getting her fare anymore.

    You’re a lovable kind of guy! You’ll find someone to fill that spot in the am.

    • I don’t blame her at all. I would do the same thing she has done. in times like this you can’t afford to lose a job. My issue is that my company would let something like this to happen two days in a row. It was two different drivers that picked her up and there is no reason the company couldn’t make the effort to get her a ride on time. I’ll be going into the inner workings of a Las Vegas cab company in the future and whats wrong with it. Thanks for stopping by.

      • ryoko861 Says:

        I agree, the company definitely shouldn’t have let that happen twice! Actually, not only you lost a fare, they lost a customer, who was a regular as well. Bad business practice! I look forward to that post!

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    THat’s too bad that the company did not put a higher priority on this woman since she was guaranteed money in the bank for the company each week. Those are the people they really need to take care of. Hope you can find a new regular 7am rider quick.

Leave a Reply

