Who Needs Vacation Pay

After an unexpected week off work I’m back. I headed to Sacramento last Sunday around 1:30am after receiving a call saying my mom was being checked out at the hospital while visiting my dad who was there after a surgery. I called into work and let them know what was going on. I was told to make sure and bring the paperwork showing the hospital stay and all is good. I let them know later in the week everything was going ok and I would be back on Sunday which is today.

So like any good employee I wake up this morning and stumble into work at my normal start time. I get into the line for my company and wait to get my paperwork. I notice my two supervisors looking up at me as I’m getting closer whispering back and forth. First thing through my head is I’m in trouble and they just waited for me to get back to work to fire me. (you never know in the cab industry if you have a job day-to-day) I reach the desk and my MMA fighter supervisor looks up and say,

MMA: oh man I’m sorry I didn’t know you were here today so I gave your shift away.

Me: ah ok why? I was told coming back today was ok.

MMA: well the lady who does that doesn’t work on the weekends so we took you off.

Long story short I had to wait for a shift for today and at one point was offered a shift that would get me home at about 8:15 tonight when I have to wake up a 2am tomorrow for work. Lets not forget that would also make it so I was at work for around 15 hours. I love the way these people think. But thank god despite the fact the company and I don’t always see eye to eye, MMA was able to hook me up with a shift with one of our other cab companies and only an hour later than normal I was on the road making money.

So I’m back and I have a ton of stories from the last few weeks I never got to write about so if all works out I should have my first real post up tomorrow sometime. Thanks to everyone who has still been checking in through the week.

4 Responses to “Who Needs Vacation Pay”

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    Can’t wait to hear the adventures! Hope everything is well with the parents!

  2. I hope your parents are doing well!

  3. Mom is doing as well as could be with her own medical issues and dad in rehab for 6 week and then another 8 hour surgery. hopefully then all will be good.

  4. Mr. T – I’ve been out of the blog loop lately so this post is the first I’ve read about your folks. I hope they’re both doing OK and in full recovery!

    I’m kind of glad you and the missus haven’t been writing too much either – ’cause a) I’ve been uninspired and b) it makes for less posts to catch up on 🙂

    Stay well, dude!

Leave a Reply

