Good Luck Chuck

It’s 4:30am and the streets in the residential parts of Vegas are still quiet. Well, they were until I unleashed Chuck on them. Chuck is a 86-year-old man who has lived out here for about 40 years. He has trouble walking and seems to have slight memory loss but all in all seems to have it together.
This morning I’m the lucky driver who gets the call to pick him up. I get close to his apartments and call. He says he’ll meet me out side because he doesn’t know the gate code. I get there and help him in and put his walker in back. He calmly says “I’m going to my brothers.” he gives me the cross streets and says he’ll give me the turn by turn from there. As I pull up he gets me into a neighborhood and  says” STOP. THAT’S IT. I’LL BE BACK”. The next thing I know, he’s tossing me his wallet and says “here take it. I don’t have money so he better come through or else.” At this time, he let’s out a scream “GEORGE, GEORGE!”. Not happy that George did come running out, he starts crying and screaming. He runs up to the house (leaving his walker) and starts beating on the windows. Not happy that no one is answering, he goes to the next house and starts all over again. At this point, I realize his brother doesn’t live here and I need to get him out of here before the cops show up. I get him to come back to the car and calm him down enough to get a street name out of him. It only took ten minutes. I look it up and drive about a mile up from where we were. As I pull down the street he screams at me, “STOP THE FUCKING CAR THERE”. He sees his car, come to find out. He jumps back out and runs up to the house. He starts to banging on the windows and yelling once again. I decide I should call the Taxi Authority(TA) for help. Not only does this guy not have money but I don’t think his brother is going to have any either, that is if this really is his brother’s place. While waiting for the TA to show, he disappears. Next thing I know a shirtless man comes out of the house that Chuck was banging on with a bat in hand ready to kick some ass. Thank god Chuck was not there. I explained to him it’s some crazy old man looking for his brother George. He said he didn’t know a George and went back in.
Chuck comes stumbling out of another house and I see the door slam on him. He is crying louder than ever and starts coming back to the car. I take his walker out and tell him the cops are on the way and he’s not getting back in till I get some cash. The crying gets louder as he goes back to the door and bangs on it for a good five minutes. He once again starts down the driveway as the door flys open. I hear a voice yell “hey fuck-head. Come get some cash and get the fuck out of here. I’m done with you and this shit”. Chuck didn’t go back, so the man came out wearing nothing but his birthday suit and throw some money on the yard and went back in. (you never know here in Vegas) Chuck, still crying, asked me to help him get the money. So I got out and got the money owed to me and wished him luck as I got back in the car to pull off.
As I make the u-turn to leave, TA pulls up and I’m sure they were thankful they didn’t really have to work. But while I talked to them, Chuck gets in the car and drives off. He’s about two blocks down and hits the curb. I smack my head and hope he makes it to wherever he’s going.

Good luck Chuck.

6 Responses to “Good Luck Chuck”

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh Says:

    Just as I thought! You probably get a gold mine worth of great stories on a typical shift of work. Every passenger is a new story. Good luck Chuck.

  2. Oh, so he drives like you? People in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones, ya know….oh well, you’re always breaking things.

  3. LOL! When I visit Vegas, you have to let me ride with you – I’ll have blog material for a year! Stay safe guy – you seem to encounter a lot of weirdos!

Leave a Reply

