You Can Call Me “Dr. Hack”

Everyone getting into a cab in Vegas has a different story and their own way of riding. You have the people who get in and find someone to call right away to avoid any conversation with the driver and then you have the ones who use the cab as a free therapy session.

Yesterday was one of those days.  I went to an apartment to pick up a lady who was going to work. I sat there for around 10 mins waiting for her to come out. When she gets in, she starts with “I’m sorry my dumb ass fiance decided it would be smart to bring up issues right before work. I keep telling him I can’t do this before work. My job is too important and stressful to go in with this on my mind. A lot of people count on me being on my game and I can’t let them down”. Man, she must have a crazy job. So I ask her what she does for a living. “OH, I work the check out at Lowes.” For those not knowing, Lowes is a hardware store . I laughed internally and said “yeah, I know how that goes. If your mind isn’t in the job, it messes everything up. Lord knows that the last thing your boss needs is someone who’s not all there”. The ride took about 20 mins and I heard it all. From his personal issues to hers and everything in between. 

I sat and took it all in and couldn’t wait till she was out of the cab to say out loud –  “dumb bitch. Don’t send naked pics of yourself to other guys and maybe he wouldn’t have these issues!”. Yes, during this she tells me that it all started when he found out that she sent pics to a guy. Her thing was, “we aren’t going to be married until January 1st so what’s his deal? I’ll stop then”. I love people and the shit they tell others. Remember, while I am a driver and don’t really care what I hear in my cab, that doesn’t mean I need to hear it all. 

Oh and next time I’ll have to impose my $100 per hour shrink fee.

8 Responses to “You Can Call Me “Dr. Hack””

  1. $100 per hour would be nice. It’s about time I put your ass to work! lol

    • Please; you put me to work years ago. But like all great Dr.’s out there we find a case that’s worth not charging due to A: feeling bad. B: knowing they couldn’t afford the millions it would cost for the treatment. And C: knowing the money I’ll make on the case study will pay off in the end. :-). Love you

  2. Wow…I can’t believe she actually expected people to sympathize with her.

  3. Nice idea with the shrink fee, either shut them up or get money out of it. XD

  4. What an incredibly smart woman :-p I agree with the fee – start charging by 10-minute increments!

  5. Your shrinks fees need to be WAY higher. You are mobile, after all. The convenience of therapy AND a ride to work, two-hundred-fiddy-dollah. Plus tip. And don’t let the door hit y’arse on the way out. AND Make It A Great Day!

Leave a Reply

