Am I an Aussie?

Days Like this make me remember why I like my job, at least one day a month.  It’s close to the end of my shift and I’m downtown hoping to get at least one more fare before I have to turn it in for the day. I head to the marriage bureau, where I at least had a chance, and a group of four come out.  They get in my cab and off we go to the Las Vegas Outlet Center.  A nice group from Australia gets themselves settled at the next stop light (get out and change seats which happens more than the TA would like but who cares). We go down the strip because they want video on the way that they havent been able to get yet. I find out that the young couple is getting hitched the next day and from what I can tell, the other two ladies were their moms (or something to that effect). They start talking about all the stops they plan on thier trip and make it clear that they are on a world tour. One thing I wish more Americans could do is travel like people from other countries do.  I hear the older two women inform the younger lady about some things that they should do on their travels (and the do’s and don’ts). Did you know in Singapore (I think she said) they will publicly flog you for littering.      

As we are heading down there, I suggest the Welcome to Las Vegas sign for the popular photo-op most people forget about.  I pull up and get out to help with the picture. I take the group and then the younger girl pulls out a gnome from the backpack shes holding.  They tell me of a Australian tradition of traveling with a gnome that you’ve stolen from someones yard and you take photos of it on your travels. Then upon your return, you put it back where it came from with the photo book of its travel memories.

They thought I would think that’s dumb. Little did they know that I love shit like that and wish people out here would do things like that without the worries of getting into trouble or getting shot. Then they asked if I would take a picture with it. HELLS TO THE YEAH I WOULD. So I’m a little crazy like that. I love doing silly stuff and that was right up my alley.  So now I ask, does that make me an honorary Aussie or what? I hope so! They seem to be cool people. Almost everyone I’ve had from Australia is nice and out for fun. Besides, I could move there for our winters  and enjoy their summer. HHHMMM I think I’m onto something. Plus, I think I could finally find someone to control my dogs.

Leave a Reply

