Is It Just Me?

What is this world coming to? Recently I got a call on the westside of town. I got the info and called the fare like I always do. The lady answers and without even a hello I get this frantic raspy voice telling me a story about the dog missing and these guys have it or so she hopes, and they better be there or she’s going to be pissed. I find a way to stop her long enough to say I’m only a few blocks away and was wanting the address to where we are going. She came back with, “why are you wasting more time on the phone with me. Get here I’ve been waiting for 10 mins for you to get here. I need this dog to come home and it better be there or I’m going to be pissed at you for taking so long.”

Let me stop for a second and let everyone out there know 10 to 15 mins to get a cab is normal and in some places it’s real good. So back off your drivers and be happy we get there in less than 30 mins.

So before I pull up I look the address up of where I’m taking her that she had  finally gave me hoping I can get there quick to keep from being yelled at. When it pops up on my map I notice that it’s in the same area that she’s calling from. But as I zoom in I notice that it’s only 6 houses down from her house on the street that crosses hers. HOLY SHIT I HATE DUMB PEOPLE! I don’t know maybe it’s just me but when there are only two turns to get to your house off the major road don’t you know the name of the only street besides yours? How do you let people know how to get to your house?

Moving on. I pull up and she comes running out with this little fancy dog bag (reminds me of my mother-in-law) panicked asking if she needs to use her dog back or could her “Little Poop Poop” just sit with her. While a part of me wanted to say NO you and your Poop Poop can just walk your happy asses, I held back. She got in and said “just get me there as fast as you can. I don’t care what it cost.” I had her buckle up and said “no prob, I know right where this is and so should you.” with a look of confusion she looked at me like I’m an ass (which I am). So I hit the gas hard and speed around the corner and jumped on the brakes. She said “are you kidding me, that’s it?” I responded with a simple yep and she ran to the door yelling “Poop Poop, Poop Poop”. I just shook my head and waited to see what was next. She got to the door and went crazy. The people who found her dog just stepped back and let the dog go to her. I could tell they knew she was crazy and were trying to just send her on the way but she wouldn’t budge. I don’t know what was said but some how could feel their pain. She gets back in the car with the meter still running and started to tell me how her dog is her life and couldn’t believe he would run away. She then got on this kick about how she was so glad that I showed up when I did because she didn’t know what she would do otherwise.

My god! It’s truly shocking to me that some people have made it as far as they have in life. I guess what bugged me the most about this is how dumb people are getting. I’m not that old but even when I was younger if I lost my dog I went out and looked for it. I knocked on doors and talked to my neighbors. Yes that’s right, I talked to my neighbors. What an odd thing to do, right? All I’m saying to those of you who don’t understand whats wrong with this is – pull your heads out your ass and reintroduce yourself to the world and everyone out there making it happen.

One Response to “Is It Just Me?”

  1. I may not be able to find my way out of a wet paper bag but at least I know how to use google maps. As for that damn Poop Poop, no comment. lol

Leave a Reply

