Drugs or Plant Food

Over the years I’ve met people from all over the world and have found that you can’t always judge a book by its cover, well almost. I recently picked up a local from his condo who was in a hurry to get to his new store that had just opened. He got in the cab looking high as all hell but not smelling like weed, which about 3/4 of the people I take to work do.  He started talking up this new business he had started and bragged about how he’s “found a way around the system”.  He started telling me how all types of people, from cops to day-workers, have found out about this and have come in for help. He said that he’s the third store to open here in Las Vegas and he hopes to grow fast before the laws change. He also made it clear to me that if the laws can change, so can his ingredients. His store sells “Plant Food” so he says at first.

He started in on me by asking how often I’m asked for drugs. I tell him that as a day driver not too often. Mainly the night drivers are hit up for that. Day drivers mainly get asked about weed and that’s few and far between.  He then started discussing how  he needed to get us (cabbies) to help advertise and distribute for him, yes distribute, and no this really isn’t “plant food”.  I tried to explain that I don’t know too many driver that would do this due to the fact that we would never be able to drive in Las Vegas again if we got busted.  Once again, he started in on the legal side of things and explained how he got his store. The “plant food” is clearly marked that it’s not for human consumption.   It is sold as “plant food”. Oh what the hell- I almost have him to his store and I’m not going to win in this discussion, so I decided to just sit and listen.  When we got to the store  he handed me a baggy and two small jars.  He urged me to take a look, try it out, and let him know what I thought. I drive off trying to figure out what I’m going to do with this shit.  I call my wife and she says I should just dump them. So I did. 

 The next day, I found it odd that I picked up a group who started talking about this stuff. They were making fun of the guy who was trying to sell it. They said he looked “fried” and yet was trying to say it has no lasting effects and is 100% legal.  They had some of the same thoughts I did which was it was BULLSHIT. So I dropped them off and get myself a radio call for a condo pick up.  I start that way and find out it’s the same guy from yesterday, the “fried guy”! This happens all the time. I have a few regulars now because I try to work the same parts of town. 

I picked him up and took him back to work. He fills me in on more info about the “Spice” (that’s what they are calling it).  He told me more about the samples he had given me, what they do and how he gets the word out. I hear about how he goes to the clubs to sell and spread the word and once again how it’s “legal” because its “plant food”.  I listen to it all and wonder how long this new shit will last before we’ll start hearing about it on the news. The samples he gave me were “Spice”, “XTC”, and something similar to cocaine with a chemical compound on it “GBL” and”BZP”.

I decided to look it up and figure out whats really going into this stuff, you know the “plant food”. “Spice” aka legal weed,K2, or JWH-018  are a few ways it’s known, depending on where you get it and whats in it. I had a hard time getting a true answer on the web as to what it really is, but everything I saw was out of Germany and had to do with chemical compounds and labs. XTC was mainly a Chinese herb, Ephedrine, and caffeine.  The Cocaine was Cinnamon, Wasabi, and VERY HIGH levels of Caffeine (one small pill had more than 3 time the caffeine of any coffee or energy drink).

So basically think about the crap going into your body. I’m all for legalizing “real weed” (you know the shit you grow, not chemicaly engineer) because it is natural and it really isn’t worse than drinking. But, I have a hard time getting on board with these things that are made in a lab. And don’t forget, they have to sell it as “plant food”.  So be carefull while out there and have fun.

4 Responses to “Drugs or Plant Food”

  1. Sorry if this sounds bad, but wow, I didn’t know being a cab driver could be so exciting.

    I guess if I’d thought about it more, I would’ve realized that yeah, of course it’s going to be crazy, going around driving crazy strangers around, how could that not be exciting?

    Good luck with all of the stuff you have to deal with.

  2. Excellent blog. I now subscribe. I agree with you, I would never touch those man made chemical drugs, they are bad news! We need to legalize natural herbal marijuana and stop driving people to alcohol and other drugs instead. You are right, it’s no worse than alcohol (and quite a bit better – THC and other cannabinoids shrank cancerous tumors and increased the mice’s lifespans in studies including leukemia and lung cancers. Munson, AE et al. Antineoplastic Activity of Cannabinoids. Journal of the National Cancer Institute. Sept. 1975. p. 597-602.)

Leave a Reply

